Opinion

Grizzly hunt ban aims at cities

John Horgan’s NDP rushes announcement to raise money

OPINION: Battle against intolerance will be fought in history classrooms

A complete accounting of the past – not platitudes – is our best weapon against racist mistruths

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Aug. 18, 2017 edition)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers.

  • Aug 18th, 2017

BUCHOLTZ: For money, criminals will always take a shot – in Surrey and elsewhere

They are always willing to take up another line of crime

  • Aug 18th, 2017

JINNY SIMS: ‘I’m enthusiastic about the brighter future we are building for B.C.’

In a guest column, Minister of Citizens’ Services says ‘there is so much good that can be done’

  • Aug 17th, 2017

EDITORIAL: Tread carefully with $15/hour promise

Province should measure impact of 50-cent hike in minimum wage before promising to jump to $15

  • Aug 17th, 2017
video
Medals galore for Surrey teen para-swimmer at Canada Summer Games

     

    High above Surrey on city's newest, tallest building

       

      Young entrepreneur excitedly pitches her Lava Lips invention in Surrey

         

        Surrey training more volunteers to help fire evacuees

           

          Debate of national anthem lyrics is ‘moot’

          Making the lyrics more inclusive does not reject tradition, but respects it

          BC VIEWS: Notes from the forest fire zone

          Media hype aside, this is not the worst fire season ever

          ZYTARUK: Hawthorne hijinks not funny at all

          Strange stuff in ongoing battle for future of a Surrey park

          Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Aug. 11, 2017)

          Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers.

          • Aug 10th, 2017

          ‘A life well lived’: Remembering Alan Davidson, a key part of Surrey’s ‘greatest generation’

          Memorial service on Friday, Aug. 18 at Victory Memorial Park in South Surrey

          • Aug 10th, 2017

          EDITORIAL: Don’t be duped by bogus bills

          Pay attention to your bills. If you don’t, you might pay out more hard-earned money than you should

          • Aug 8th, 2017

          LETTER: More compassion for those who are suffering, please

          Those of us who have a voice have a duty to speak up against the abuse of those who don’t

          ZYTARUK: My book, my Kilimanjaro

          Column writer shares sage platitudes on getting the job done, eventually

          Massey Tunnel replacement: Elected officials shouldn’t roll dice with commuters’ lives

          Activists seem to favour the ‘Build Absolutely Nothing Anywhere Near Anyone’ movement

          • Aug 4th, 2017

          Stay safe when setting sail this B.C. Day long weekend

          Boating BC advises boaters on how to stay safe when having fun on the water this long weekend

          • Aug 2nd, 2017

          LETTER: I guess Surrey’s mayor forgot important points about Hawthorne Park

          The letter from Surrey Mayor Linda Hepner is not only “mis-information,” it conveys an inaccurate city master plan for Hawthorne Rotary Park.

          • Aug 1st, 2017

          OUR VIEW: Be smart, Surrey – don’t let your phone control you

          Study shows increasing smartphones getting more of our attention

          • Aug 1st, 2017

          BUCHOLTZ: With dominance comes arrogance in Surrey

          Under rare process, if 10 per cent of voters react, Surrey will have to rethink Hawthorne Park plan

          • Aug 1st, 2017

          LETTER FROM SURREY MAYOR: Misinformation about Hawthorne Park road plans

          ‘I would like to dispel some of the misinformation that has been circulating,’ writes Mayor Hepner

          • Jul 31st, 2017